16
Dec
10

Christmas Humble Indy Bumble – Revenge of the titans

Being tired, cold and a bit ill proves to be a motivation destroyer. An aborter of motivation would have those life sapping qualities and use them against you. All of this and I still want to knock out a wee blog post about this great game. G R E A T game.

Having played Machinarium and Braid before the last 3 games in Humble Indy Bumble pack were a mystery to me and despite my reading of Rock Paper Shotgun 10-10 times a day I failed to recognise any of them. One of the articles they did write named one game as a Desktop Tower Defence style game. I like DTD, infact everyone I know likes it, so the first game I would try was this Revenge of the Titans. It’s a small download and a fast install so I was playing it within 5 minutes. The title screen and the old school music made my interest level go from “merely curious” to “uh huh”.

Nice title screen is nice.

It’s a decent title screen right? I think it looks awesome anyway. The company that made this game have a nice logo incidently, here is the logo.

Puppies with red glowing eyes should never play with rabbits.

It’s such an easy game to get into, just like DTD, and just like DTD it is hard as hell to get right. Plants Vs Zombies eases you in and  helps you make better decisions by not pushing you too hard and too fast with the different types of zombies right away. I didn’t get that from RotT at all. Instead of going for the campaign mode I went for the Hectic mode and that is probably why I felt like the game really wanted me dead. The regular titan monsters are fine, but the more advanced ones can be such assholes. One of them would just ignore my turret fire and keep on going, I had to restart my game as a result. Despite the trickyness, it’s hard to stop playing….again like DTD.

3 modes so the repetition doesn't feel so repetitious.

In DTD the objective is to not let the alien/monster race get through your barriers of towers and lose your life points. Each monster you let through, costs you a life and you have only 20 life so if you make a big mistake, you are going to die fast. RotT’s objective is to avoid having the titans walk up to your main base and start attacking it. It’s a sort of city/factory building which houses your command and people…fuck knows really but it’s what the titans are out to destroy.

In DTD you collect cash to build turrets and such to defend yourself by killing the baddies, each one is worth a certain amount of cash, kill nothing and earn no cash. RotT’s has you harvest up these crystals with refineries which then earns you cash to spend on defences. It’s a bit command and conquer-ish actually. Manually clicking on the refineries when they flash ‘collect’ puts the cash into your account, then you use the menu to select what you want to build and then you palce it. Easy.

Home sweet industrial home.

Though because your cash carries over from one level to the next you have to know when to spend it and on what, so just like DTD, efficiency is key. So while it is a DTD style game, it is more managerial and so has much more going for it, in my opinion. DTD has this endless cycle of baddies in swarms and swarms with no end in sight, and your towers must be correct or you just might aswell start over again. RotT’s gives you a restart option for that stage and it also records your process in a series of check points so you can go back to a previous one and try to improve your game a little.

Made a bad managerial decision? go back and change it and see different results! If only life was as easy.

Turret batteries and their supporting modules are key to figuring out early on.

The fight is clearly the main part of the game but the managerial stuff is quite cool. Picking different research and following the correct path to some new technology to improve your defences. Keeping an eye on your cash flow and worrying if you can afford a good set up in the next stage, can you afford that new tech just now or should you wait?

If you can manage the cash and what you are researching is affordable without crippling your next setup, then you only have to manage how to set yourself up. Which takes some doing as many titans do different things. There is one who is impervious to your regular ammo, one who bounces around quite a bit making gun placement a nightmare and then you have big nasty ones etc etc. Having the right setup is important.

"PEW PEW PEW!", and they were all like "oh no we're walking into a trap!", and I'm all, "PEW PEW!"

I have these small robots that come out of a factory every 9 seconds or so, and while they are entirely rubbish at killing the titans, they are awesome. I also like my Blaster cannons because I’ve researched cooling and ammo systems, so they not only shoot more often, they have more ammo AND they reload themselves. I’ve also just aquired a laser gun, but I’ve not tried it yet. So far the options for defence are pretty awesome and fun, and funawesome.

omg achievements!

Like all games these days, it feels the need to reward you with achievements. Some are pretty cool, like the Nuke ’em from orbit one, though only because it’s an Aliens reference and Aliens is an amazing movie. Otherwise I quite like keeping track of the things I’ve done in a game, despite probably not remembering when or why it happened. Achievements are fine but the same ones keep turning up in our games so often that I don’t make the moment memorable in my brain anymore I guess, though these are quite nice grave markers for gaming moments.

Some games have things like, “kill x amount” or “deal x amount of damage with____” and these are fine, but the random ones that you can’t plan for…now THOSE I can get behind. See the Team Fortress 2 achievement lists for a decent idea as to what I mean.

The Robot here delivers your current statistics, for those of use who are addicted to statistics I am sure you will enjoy them.

This game has bags of character, I like the artwork, I like the game play, I like the length of the stages and I like the management side of an otherwise simple idea. It’s great and it’s the 4th reason to buy the Humble Indy Bumble. 1 – Braid, 2 – Machinarium, 3 – Giving to Charity, 4 – Revenge of the titans.

The weird dude from teh office comic...what's his name...DILBERT! this is his future son delivering research reports.

0 Responses to “Christmas Humble Indy Bumble – Revenge of the titans”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

