09
Jul
10

EvE – Guilty, of nomadic behaviour.

I am writing this on Monday 5th July 2010 as a two part single article. I want to get my thoughts out right now and see what happens by the end of the week. I can see the outcome in my head but just incase it is not inevitable I thought this might be an interesting way to do it.

:Initial thoughts:

Corporation hopping is shit. People that come and go in and out of corps have a problem and it is not the fault of anybody but their own. If you want to join a group of people and then leave them in a brief time then fair enough, I won’t moan at you or tut/tsk/sigh in your general direction but the fact remains that the behaviour is shit. That is my thought on the matter, now why did I bring it up?

As I type this I am one of these horrible annoying people and this would be a confession of sorts. Since leaving my own wormhole corp with my main I joined a mercenary outfit who are respected and who are a decent bunch of guys but as it turns out, high sec merc life just hasn’t clicked with me and I can’t help but think that it won’t ever click. And there in lies the problem. Stick around or go with your gut?

If it is some problem with how I play or if it is some problem with the mechanics of EvE I am not sure but something about it doesn’t sit right with me. So far the targets have been either organised and setup with neutral players remote repairing them complete with a torrential volume of abuse and smack talk in local OR they are a rabble who manage to get together something with which to fight with. Compared to low sec where fighting is calculated and somewhat easier to manage because well…when there are no rules you make your own up while adhering to the standard PvP code of sorts. In high sec these people can undock a Machariel or similarly large faction boats and not worry about anything because their repper alts/mates have their backs.

Maybe I need thicker skin or to HTFU in general.

If high sec is this protective area surrounded by a fence that is gaurded and these guys are inside this compound of sorts, then I am the guy outside the fence daring them to leave the comfort of said compound and come and play in the shithole that is the outside world. High sec is nice and comfortable with systems that are in the 50-100 players per system bracket, low sec systems would have 0-15 in a system on a usual day and you can see who you are going to fight, or who is possibly coming to fight, who is next door, who is 2-3 jumps out etc. It’s easier to process and you don’t have to worry so much about neutral eyes/hangers on. I am of course generalising about all of this but I can’t get my negativity out any other way.

So I was thinking about returning to low sec and infact turning toward piracy. If I want to fight, I will. If I don’t want to fight then I know the rules of low sec and I can usually GTFO if I need to. If not for profit, then for fun.

:Result:

Quite regal looking isn't it? or medieval, I haven't decided quite which yet. Though it does resemble the Scottish flag so that is a bonus, bonus points there boys.

Well there we go. I jumped the ship and boarded another ship before the other ship noticed what happened. The CEO of CMAC being the only guy in the loop about this because he deserves to know. Commander Cross is one of the handfull of players that I respect fully, he is hard working, smart and fun so sending him an eve mail was the least I could do.

And now I am here in Hellhounds ready to embark on an entirely different game, one I am fairly aware of but it being covered in Hellhound sauce I am sure several layers of crazy “wtf” moments await.

Leaving one corp to join another in a short time like that is shit. I can’t excuse myself for it but having nothing that really gripped me as what I want to do in EvE over the last 2 months just clashed badly with what I knew I SHOULD be doing. Does that make sense? It’s done now anyway, and my game will now resume it’s pace of awesome and hopefully this blog, because even I have noticed how straight and tired it’s been this week.

3 Responses to “EvE – Guilty, of nomadic behaviour.”


  1. 11/07/2010 at 8:00 pm

    Will you still be on the C-MAC public chat on occasion?

    • 2 TooNuRaccoon
      12/07/2010 at 7:48 pm

      I can pop in from time to time I guess 🙂 but I can be found in Hellcats pub 100% of the time if you want to chat idlely about the price of chocolate or something heh

      • 13/07/2010 at 12:20 am

        lol, another damn tab to add to my chat window.


Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

