17
Jun
10

Distraction month’o’awesome.

Recently games happened to me. Games that I love and have just started and games that I am learning. It has been awesome and despite the all at once factor it hasn’t relaly felt so stressfull. That is, getting stressed about palying games is a life I would truly dream of having but sadly it happens rarely. In short I shall explain what I have been doing.

Horus Hersey. A board game that makes other boardgames look very very small. It is only 2 players but the missus and I have been trying to get a few games in every so often but as a game it sucks and is more tactical and just doing things correctly in a certain order to win or deny the other person victory so you win anyway.

Deus Ex. It has been on STEAM for the longest time now but last month or so it came down in rice to something like 3 EUROs so I bought it just for the sake of having it. It would be the 4th time I have bought it aswell because a game like Deus Ex comes every 10 years and knocks the shit out of everything previously and in years to come. Today it is STILL one of the best games and so I played through it…again for the 20+ time or so. I love it.

Not games but books. Ravenor the omnibus which is a 40k novel of about 700 pages of pure Inquisitorial crime stomping and demon splitting and This Gaming Life by Jim Rossignol who writes for many things not the least is Rock, Paper, Shotgun which you can find in links to your right here. Incidently he is a massive EvE fan and has played for 6 years or so, I understand he had to quit playing but he still likes to keep up to date with news.

The missus wants me to play Spore so I have ben playing that every now and again and am currently at the civilisation stage, tanks and things like that. My Tower of doom is pretty awesome as a city centre piece.

A rather expensive 1998 PC version of Final Fantasy 7 arrived in the mail aswell. Bed wettingly awesome.

EvE just released the expansion for the summer, Taranis, and it has some pretty awesome things in which I will get into just like nearly every other EvE blogger has done so far.

So all of these things came at me in the last 3-4 weeks so my time has been rather limited, limited by distractions such as these, the missus, the family and of course work. Yey for work.

8 Responses to “Distraction month’o’awesome.”


  1. 17/06/2010 at 8:17 pm

    Nice to see another Dan Abnett fan, have you read the Eisenhorn trilogy or the Gaunt’s Ghosts books?

    • 2 TooNuRaccoon
      18/06/2010 at 4:54 pm

      The only other Abness books I have read are the ones he wrote for the Horus heresy, my favourite being ‘Legion’. I actually REALLY like that book, it’s the only one I have read twice.

      • 18/06/2010 at 7:21 pm

        Well you should definatly get the Eisenhorn trilogy, the Ravenor trilogy was the sequel of sorts. Or Eisenhorn was the prequel of sorts, I can’t remember what came first.

      • 4 TooNuRaccoon
        18/06/2010 at 8:20 pm

        Eisenhorn came first for sure. I saw those books out many moons ago but just never bought them. I bought the Ravenor omnibus to read first because if after reading it, the pull to read the Eisenhorn books was strong then I would definetly be onto a winner. As it is, I don’t feel the need to read them and I am half the way through the second Ravenor book atm. Have you read Legion? you should if you have not 🙂

      • 19/06/2010 at 2:56 am

        Yeah I’ve read Legion, I’ve got all the Horus Heresy books up to Prospero Burns, and I’m probably going to get that in the morning.

        Legion was good, answered a few questions, left some new questions, added new layers of mystery. Kind of fitting for a book about the Alpha Legion.

      • 6 TooNuRaccoon
        19/06/2010 at 1:22 pm

        Prospero burns is out? or do you mean thousand Sons? It is great if you meant that, I think you will really enjoy it. Dan truly is the best writer for the Horus hersey but I quite like Graham McNeil to and this book is one of his best. I am really glad I picked up the first book, I just hope they don’t drag the series on for ever Robert Jordan style.

  2. 19/06/2010 at 7:39 pm

    I thought it was out but seems like I was mistaken, ended up not going to the shop but the black library online store says it’s not out until Jan >_<

  3. 8 Tyson G
    19/06/2010 at 10:43 pm

    I own the Horus Heresy boardgame too, and it is excellent. It still comes out of the box and gets played on occasion. Last time was a few weeks ago, where my Legions of Evil fought their way into the Palace. The assault got bogged down at the inner palace, so Horus himself dropped from orbit into the middle of the fight to personally kerb-stomp the Emperor.

    It was a close call thing, but they make the best battles. 🙂

    The Eisenhorn and Ravenor books are well worth reading. I’m running Dark Heresy the RPG at the moment* which is really the Dan Abnett Universe RPG, in that loads of the stuff is there purely because either Eisenhorn or Ravenor did it at some point.

    *I’m supposed to be working on teh plots right now, actually. Not bumming about on the nets.

    T.


Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

