22
May
10

EvE – Random pish and non-events from the last week.

Here is a few things that I want to write about but can’t really make a blog post about individually so they get crammed into one random colection of shite because OMFG time is short and I want to get these down NOAW!

Mer·ce·nar·y

adj.

1. Motivated solely by a desire for monetary or material gain.
2. Hired for service in a foreign army.

n. pl. mer·ce·nar·ies

1. One who serves or works merely for monetary gain; a hireling.

2. A professional soldier hired for service in a foreign army.

CMAC is a merc outfit and being a member of CMAC I am thus a merc and so all the usual degrading terms apply to me aswell but i’m ok with that. Though traditionally merc’s are seen as money grabbing selfish pricks, in EvE they are seen as solutions to problems. And as such, the degrading terms are not nearly as numerous as applied to the real life merc’s. Story wise I find it quite intriquing that my character in game would be a merc in the first place. His heritage is of the merc’ kind but so far he has only worked for himself or a corporation and their needs.  So doing this seems rather out of place with his employment history to date, I dunno, maybe something just snapped!

What I hadn’t really thought about before joining CMAC was the need to relocate for each contract. I don’t own or fly a carrier so for me the hassle for shipping out is a little greater than I had anticipated. Luckily there are a carrier pilot or 2 I can rely on who will move my stuff for me and the corp so moving hasn’t been the great chore I thought it would initially become. That said though, I am polite so I don’t expect anybody to move my set of recons and various ships for me without some manual pilloting on my side. In the latest move that was 18 jumps to and from my high sec base where I keep my stuff. So 18 jumps in a ship I want to move, then 18 jumps back in a pod, repeat. A portion of my days off last week were spent doing things like that for EvE.

Since the operation relocation I have been spending my time watching and waiting, reporting intel and keeping track of who flies what and where. What the targets do in their time in EvE etc. Spying and scouting is something I want my character to do since I started playing and this particular contract involves setting up networks of observation spots, fast intel gathering and various other bits. It is boring shit but it is vital and so must be done. This is the first stage of operations so it is not exactly fast paced.

1 Sabre looking for me but too late while his Tempest buddy flies drones around in a vague attempt at decloaking me. I am 200km away here.

So far no fighting has been involved, at least from me, I haven’t fired a shot since I got here but I am hoping that will change, hopefully it won’t happen in their system because I don’t fancy a bunch of merc’s taking on a Super carrier plus it’s support. So we must pick and choose our engagements, then get out fast. The idea of that at least sounds fun. Here is a screenshot with names changed but it is a typical list of BMs for a system we work in.

One such system in the chain of systems needed scouted. Various safe spots, lot's of spots from gates, belts etc also any POS's in system need BM'd.

During the start of the week before the move I went out for a fight, no Rifter flight this time because…well I have 4 left but I am losing heart for that ship rapidly. It seems like a very awesome coffin really, low sec is filled with very competent PvPers with vastly more ISK on the line in the forms of pirate/faction ships.

I fought my Dramiel pirate 2 more times over the course of 3 days. Once I was flying a Thrasher and if my manual pilloting had been better, my scram would have ensured his doom but he had to leave the fight because I pulled him into a Caldari complex who then jammed him so he was correct to leave the fight. The second time I was pilloting my Crow and he said it was the best fight we had so far but he is far too fast and I can’t keep a point on him even in a Crow, so I bugged out that time because either I lose my ship or he escapes so either way I lose the fight. I think that was the wise choice, and we still gave the standard “gf” in local. I am not sure I will fight him again, Dramiels are winsauce.

The fight I managed to get and win was my Crow Vs a Rifter from a pilot in the Tuskers. A Crow should win that fight so I am not exactly overjoyed about it but a win is a win. It was strictly one on one and his corp mates didn’t break that accord. His Rifter managed to stay alive for quite some time before dying to my missile spam but again the only thing I learned was that the Rifter really is outclassed, or I should say, that to me it seems outclassed.

Crow, not as fast as a Dramiel, not as much DPS as a Dramiel but much much cheaper and great fun to fly.

I seem to be hung up about the Dramiel.

An ex corp mate logged on just before downtime and managed to catch me before I was logging off, I had just returned from taking a ship down to my new play area when he asked me if I had time to help him out. Of course I would help him aslong as it didn’t involve much fucking about. A contract appeared so I checked it out and he signed over a frigate with a particular module and some fuel isotopes. “Pop me a cyno in (system) would ya?”. He flies a carrier now because he could be bothered to train Drone Interfacting to V while I am stuck at DI III…I’m not lazy, i have Recon V for example and can fly a Widow but DI V just seems…in Swedish the term is “asjobbigt”, which translates roughly as “pain in the arse”.

Oh the reason I mention this? because it’s the second time in 2.5 years I have done a cyno and just seeing a HUGE ship appear in front of you is awesome. Oh and also because my ex-corp mate’s new ship deserves a mention at the very least.

For just 50,000ISK of fuel you to can teleport in your very own Archon carrier of the capital class ship. DO IT NOW!

Anything else happen this week….I smashed a plate warmer into my ankle, it left a bruise. 20 minutes later I would smash a trolley into the other ankle leaving another bruise. This was at work, not in EvE. Oh fuck I have nothing else to add.

3 Responses to “EvE – Random pish and non-events from the last week.”


  1. 1 grasskit
    23/05/2010 at 1:55 pm

    dual web aml caracal against the dram, tried and tested. ofc assuming hes stupid enough to engage you; on the other hand overconfidence is the folly of many a dram pilot.

    • 2 TooNuRaccoon
      23/05/2010 at 10:32 pm

      A friend in game, Damar, told me the same thing actually so maybe I will give it a go. Sometimes pirates can be a bit too overconfident so a Caracal might be a juicy target for him. I will have to give it a go 🙂 Thanks for the tip!

  2. 23/05/2010 at 6:39 pm

    I am training DI V, I can confirm that it is infact a “pain in the arse”.

    Especialy as I fly tengu atm and so don’t even use drones.


Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

