29
Mar
10

EvE – How much is enough?

Oooh more ISK talk, well EvE is run on this one thing so it is a worthy subject. How much ISK do you have? Is it enough to buy that upgrade? Have you got everything you need? everything you want is probably more important as it sets you a goal. Everything in EvE runs on the simple fact that people play EvE and centre their entire game around having the cash to play with.

If you disagree think about it this way. Even if you NEVER grind missions or belt rats, even if you NEVER market trade, even if you NEVER do any Industry what so ever, even if you NEVER contract scam or pirate, even if you NEVER pay with real cash you still bought that GTC with ISK. We all centre our games around ISK because that is how the game works and nothing in game is free, you simply need ISK.

What I want to know is, how much is enough? 100 million? 1 billion? 10 billion? 50 billion? more?

I started thinking about this more seriously after I reached a personal goal in game. When it happened the question struck me like a lightning bolt of clarity, “WTF am I going to do with 3 billion ISK?”. All of a sudden my liquid ISK turned from a constant fluctuation of 400-500 mil over my first one and a half years to a sum of 3 bil over the last 4 months. Stupid rich, stupidly fast. And like all lottery winners you goaΒ  bit crazy bying up crap you don’t need but improves your current situation somewhat. Now I have calmed down a bit and I can clearly think this through. All the ships I am using to make this ISK are sexily pimped out and earned while in this wormhole, so now it’s just ISK grinding for the sake of ISK.

A habit I picked up from other games, noteably RPG’s, is the practice and fine art of stashing stuff. Hamstering away everything “Incase shit happens”. I have a back up mission Raven and a mission Rokh both with enough ammo to level a small moon, a spare Hulk and POS modules for a mining base. If things go wrong at least I can start again but I don’t want to start again, I want to increase my ISK growth over a worthwhile endeavour that is fun and has a point, rather than expand like say…the belt on an American diabetic. Unhealthy.

These thoughts are on my mind when I think about my game. 3 Bil is a nice cushion, a safety net of ISK to cover any unexpected losses that give game breaking results. We had one recently, it wasn’t pretty but even though it was a set back we recovered in record time. The point is the 3 bil is my blanket and now I have to get a bit more isk to fund the things I want, everything is now a question of WANT over NEED. I don’t need anything else, everything I have allready gets me the things I want, thus I need nothing.

So my want list. I will have a think, and get back to you on that.

"Well Tarquin the wife and I made our first and it was so splendid we just went right on ahead and made a second and third ahh har har har...har har har"

6 Responses to “EvE – How much is enough?”


  1. 29/03/2010 at 3:25 pm

    I’ve been looking for about 3bil in investment mone for a bit over a week now

    Interested in investing in a little industrial project?

    • 2 TooNuRaccoon
      29/03/2010 at 4:43 pm

      No thankyou mate, I’m likely to get that serious with it. I keep making so much ISK that I can afford the shiny things so that is probably the plan, I just need to plan a spending trip πŸ™‚ thanks for the offer though.

      • 29/03/2010 at 6:14 pm

        Well let me know if you change your mind, game name is the same as this one.

  2. 30/03/2010 at 4:48 am

    3 Billion ISK! I remember when I hit that point, it then jumped to 4.5 then back to 3, then back to 4.5, 2, 4.5… I cant seem to hold on to my ISK once I see that 4.5 mark!

    Having your wife play must be a boon to your wallet and your general life, do you find that doing something together like EVE adds, or detracts from your RL relationship? I often wish that my wife would be interested in something I took part it, maybe I can get your missus over to have a chat to her? πŸ™‚

    • 5 TooNuRaccoon
      30/03/2010 at 11:07 am

      I need to get a better grasp of writing I think. My missus does not play EvE πŸ™‚ she plays other MMOs and games. Maybe a screenshot caption or some vaguely sarcastic comment threw you off there, sorry fo that heh πŸ™‚

      The point still stands I guess, she does play PC games as much as I do. Having your partner there to share your interest is awesome because you always have things to talk about, especially if you are both interested in the subject. Kinda like talking to your guy friends about a particular game, only the friend is a women that you sleep with later. Like I said, awesome.

  3. 6 someone
    12/10/2011 at 11:46 pm

    How do you people make that much money? I can’t seem to earn that much despite being online for about 9 hours a day this week. Can someone point me in the correct direction (if there is one that doesn’t involve PVP)?


Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

